Saturday, March 26, 2016

Well I didn't die...


Well I did something I didn't think I'd be doing for a while... I jumped 2'3" with the pony in my last lesson. I'm not what you would call jump crazy, sure its kinda fun but it scares the crap out of me and I don't really like the loss of control I feel. So I try to micromanage everything while still being too scared to actually really ride. Basically I feel like its a shit show every time I jump. So a month ago I didn't think I'd go above like 1'6". I can just trot over cavaletti forever, right? 


Trainer doesn't think so. Fortunately as I progress it starts to feel less like a shit show and more like actual riding. Am I any good? No, of course not I just started a couple months ago. Do I want to jump 3'? Nope, I think 2'6" will probably be good for me. But its progress and as long as my trainer just keeps raising them without telling me how high I'm jumping we should be good! For example she hid the 2'3" into a line so it didn't look as high as it does alone and didn't tell me what it was.
For scale
So I guess I might not be restricted to showing over tiny xs when I decide to do some schooling shows this summer, I might even do a 2' class and there are some eventing shows I might look into as long as everything stays below 2'. Who knows, at this rate trainer might sneak a 2'6" in there and before I know it I'll be jumping 6'.

No comments:

Post a Comment